A Great Evening

1 06 2008

It has been quite a while since we got something up on the blog, mostly because we’ve been so busy preparing for the CD release concert Friday night.  We’ve got plenty of things to share with you, but let me begin by giving you some random, non-sequential reflections on Friday night:

–  First, a big thank you to everyone who was a part of making all of this possible!  So many people were involved in this project from its inception to its release that we could not possibly list everyone.  Just know that it was incredibly rewarding for both of us to be able to create this music and then share it with our friends, family, and church on such a memorable night.  I turned to Jess after we finished and said, “That’s one of my favorite things we’ve ever done together,” and it would not have come about without the help that we received from so many of you.  Thank you!

–  Jess’ parents receive the award for Longest Distance Traveled and Best Surprise of the Night for flying in from Illinois, navigating Houston traffic and showing up for the concert.  What a great surprise!  As Jess’ mom said, “I’ve been to every one of your concerts since you were little.  Why would I miss this one?”

–  Some of you know that Friday was a bit nerve-wracking for another reason: we did not receive our product until 3:00 PM on Friday afternoon!  Believe me we were sweating it!  Due to a mix-up between our photographer and our artist the artwork was delayed which meant that we were cutting it as close as we possibly could.  I was praying all day that the UPS driver would be on time!  Thankfully I did not have to stand in front of 400 people and say, “Well, I know you thought you were coming to a CD release concert, but…”

–  What a great joy it was to share that concert with two of our closest friends in the band: Clint Milburn on guitar and Scott Williamson on drums.  Clint and I have played countless shows together and he just keeps getting better as a guitar player.  And this was our first time to play live with Scott, but what a great drummer!  No less than 10 people came up to me after the show with the following statement: “Wow!  Scott is a(n) insert superlative here drummer!”  (And if the superlative is more than one syllable it should be pronounced as slowly as possible, stressing each individual syllable, i.e. “in-cre-di-ble”.)  It was also a pleasure to be joined by two newer friends, Dave Donahoo, who has been playing guitar with us for the last couple years, and James Gregory, a friend of Scott’s.  We could not have asked for a better band.

Okay, I think that’s enough for now, but here’s a preview of some things you can look forward to on the blog in the coming days:

  • Information on how to order the CD online and through iTunes.
  • The concert video for Face of God
  • The promo videos we used to advertise for the concert
  • More reflections and pictures from the release concert

Stay tuned!

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 06 2008
Mandy Morford

Things have been more than nuts around the Morford house and I completely forgot about the release. I’m so proud of you two and I can’t wait until we can order the CD and give it a listen. I’m also glad friday night went as well as it did.. I’m just so happy for both of you!!

we love you guys!

3 06 2008
Dale Jones

Hey Guys!

Jess, your Mom dropped me a line today to tell me about the CD release… Wow! I’m so proud of you and Dave I can hardly contain myself! You probably know we’re in Carlinville now at Emmanuel Baptist as Worship Pastor. Kris is working as a Bank Teller at US Bank in C-ville… Things are going pretty well… We only live about 25 minutes from Josh & Kim so that’s very good… Drop us a line when you get a chance.

Love,
Dale & Kris

Leave a Reply

